Go Go Gadget +1 Sword of Awesomeness!

Posted on September 10, 2010

1


A Quick Background

I decided to start playing D&D again.  It seems about time.  My oldest son is 11 and is going into middle school.  Every middles school kid should know how to play D&D, right?

With the exception of one day about 3 weeks ago, it’s been almost 20 years since I have played D&D.  I never really got to get into it, as we spent most of high school overseas (in Pakistan) and there weren’t a lot of people there that played.

After graduation, We moved to Madrid, Spain, where I hung out with friends that played sometimes, but not really in a serious or regular way.

Red Box

The new 'Red Box' has that look of the original version that I played 20+ years ago.

So I was at the game store to play L5R and I heard about the new “Red Box” coming out.  This seemed to be a great chance for me to get back into the game and get my son involved.  So I bought it.  I’ve played throught the character builder in the Players Handbook a few times, making a Fighter, a Cleric and a Wizard.  I’ve downloaded the Character Builder from WOTC and build about 12 characters so far.  Hell, I even downloaded and goofed around with MasterPlan, in case, in the future, I become the DM that I had always envisioned myself as being.

So, here I am again, starting a new hobbie. All excited about it and ready to go….

Now, it I can just find a group and play regularly.

Posted in: D&D 4e, Gaming